December 14, 2016

How To Manage your Twitter Privacy


Youth today is rushing to participate in their social networks through their PCs, laptops and Smartphones where they can meet their friends in the virtual world of the internet. It is actually something you cannot ignore. Millions of people all around the world create their profiles on the leading social networking websites and share their personal details with hundreds and thousands of friends and with many strangers. While all the social networking websites offer privacy settings but a few snags can lead to as identity theft.

The most obvious is that, unlike Facebook, your tweets are by default viewable by the entire world  and so anything you post can (and if you’re any good, will) be shared across the globe instantly. But just because you share your thoughts doesn’t mean you give up all rights to privacy. Here are a few things to protect.

1. Stop Broadcasting Your Exact Location

Twitter’s geotagging feature shouts out your location when you post updates. That can be risky behavior not only for your privacy and that of those you tweet about at the time, but at the extremes could be an issue for your physical safety (or a trusty method for enterprising robbers to case your crib). Here’s how to turn that off.
  • Click the Settings wheel and select Settings.
  • Click the big Delete All Location Information button to completely disable this feature.
  • You can also choose not to share your locale on a case-by-case basis.
2. Prevent Stalkers From Following You

If you’re the famous sort, or simply want a more Facebook-like functionality with Twitter, you can choose to protect your tweets. That means potential followers have to get your permission first to be blessed with your witticisms, and only they will see your tweets.
  • Click the Settings wheel and select Settings. 
  • Check the box next to Protect My Tweets.
3. Unlink Your Other Accounts

The most common privacy hiccup on Twitter happens when you link your account to other social media channels. No matter what your settings are on Twitter, once you tweet something and it’s passed on to other services, your post is no longer protected. That’s a terrible thing to do to a tweet.
  • If you've made the mistake of connecting Twitter to Facebook, here’s how to disconnect yourself. 
  • Click the Settings wheel and select Settings.
  • Select Profile.
  • Check Disconnect at the bottom of the page.
  • Click Save Changes.


Subscribe to get more Posts :